Iced Tea My Way

Recently someone in my daughter’s school WhatsApp group forwarded this picture:

sugarydrinks
Illustration of sugar content in various commercial drinks.

 

I don’t know how accurate the measurements are, but they look pretty scary. Last year I spent the summer drinking the store-bought iced tea, and at the end of the heat wave, I had put on quite a few kilos. This picture inspired me to do better this year, so I looked up some home-made iced tea recipes and experimented.

The end result was delicious, and compared to the commercial product, contained at least 12 fewer teaspoons for every litre. That’s if the info I found on the web is correct.

 

icedteaingredients
Your favourite tea leaves, water, sugar, and a lemon.

 

Here’s the formula which worked for me:


ICED TEA MY WAY

Ingredients:

1 litre water, 2 heaped tsp tea leaves, 4 heaped tsp raw cane sugar, juice of one Indian lemon.

Method:

  • Bring the water to a boil, then drop in the tea leaves.
  • Take your pan off the stove, cover and let steep for 15 minutes.
  • Strain the tea into another pan.
  • Add sugar and stir until dissolved. Then add lemon juice.
  • Let it cool down, then refrigerate.

 

This recipe is “My Way” since this is how I like it. I’ll try to eliminate the sugar altogether in the next few weeks. But you can make it your way by adjusting the sugar and lemon juice to your taste. Also, if you want a stronger “tea” taste, you can let it steep for up to 2 hours.

 

icedteaattable
Enjoy!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

